Speen Festival 2011  

About Us


Speen Festival has established itself as a celebration of the very best artistic and creative talent from the village itself and the surrounding areas. At the heart of the Festival is the desire to provide local people with opportunities to create and participate in innovative, artistic events. Performances, exhibitions and outdoor activities are offered to the whole community at affordable prices. The Festival reaches beyond the village boundaries and is a true platform for new and developing talent excelling in art, music, dance, science, nature and photography including a full theatrical production.


The inspiration for the Speen Festival arose from the Speen Millennium Pageant of 1999, which demonstrated how the village could come together, using a variety of talents, to produce first-class entertainment. The original Festival in 2001, and those in 2003 and 2005, were developed under the unerring and professional leadership of Martin and Marjorie Stockley. In 2007, Catherine Haddon deftly took over the reins and succeeded in producing yet another hugely successful festival. She was in turn succeeded in 2009 by Jem Symondson who is once more in the chair for 2011.


Speen Festival 2011 Committee
Festival Director & Committee Chair      Jem Symondson
Joint Artistic Directors Sam and Kate Laughton
Treasurer Roger Clarke
Publicity / Press Sharon Kavanagh
Logistics David Davies
Secretary Sue Taylor
Joint Ministers Without Portfolio Anne and David Worlock


Previous Committees/Event Organisers/Assistants
Martin and Marjorie Stockley, Catherine Haddon, John Allwright, Mike Atherton, Jude Awdry, Eric Baines, Jean Baines, Lois Bale, Vicky Barrett, Margaret Chitty, Amanda Cleaver, Patrick Cleaver, Paula Cox, Mary Craft, Caroline Cranley, Susie Curtis, Wynne and Bronwen Davies, David Edwards, Jane Farley, Pauline and David Flynn, Tom Grant, Martin and Glenn Hart, Fran Hazeldine, Peter Heaps, Annie Hill, Rhydian Hill, John and Gloria Holmes, Dave Howarth, Les Jones, Carolyn Kendall, Maureen Laing, Sam and Kate Laughton, Sandy Mitcheson, Judith Newenham, Christine Oliver, Mike Page, Stephen Peake, Edie Radford, Clive Rainbow, Jill Rogerson, Jeanette Rosling, Sam Ryland, Cherry Seekins, Bob Simpson, Geoff and Clare Smith, Peter Symonds, Christine Symondson, Reg Taylor, Sue Taylor (1), Sue Taylor (2), Lesley Thorn-Davis, Kate Vale, Ian Waterman, Louise Wilson, Ashley Cooper, David Hill, Irene Clarke, Martin Hart, Barry Stickings.

Did you take part too? Email us on publicity@speenfestival.org so we can update our list.